Monday, May 12, 2008

"Best of the Booker" Shortlist Announced

As first posted here in February, the Man Booker Prize for fiction will present a special award to celebrate the prize's 40th anniversary this year. The "Best of the Booker" will honor the best overall novel to have won the prize since its inception in 1969. A similar award was created to commemorate the 25th anniversary of the prize; Salman Rushdie won the "Booker of Bookers" for his 1981 winner, Midnight's Children.

The judges have just selected the shortlist:
  • 1973 - The Siege of Krishnapur (Farrell)
  • 1974 - The Conservationist (Gordimer)
  • 1981 - Midnight's Children (Rushdie)
  • 1988 - Oscar and Lucinda (Carey)
  • 1995 - The Ghost Road (Barker)
  • 1999 - Disgrace (Coetzee)
A full report from The Guardian can be found here. In the opinion of their critics, Rushdie is believed to be a favorite to win this award as well. However, the decision is in the hands of the public who have an opportunity to vote on their favorite from this list. The press release on the Booker Prize website includes voting instructions.

Let the voting begin! Which one of these is your favorite?

1 comment:

  1. Exciting! I had to add the ones I have not read to this year's to-read list!